Vamsi J Nalam, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management

Colorado State University

1177 Campus Delivery 

Fort Collins, CO 80525

Office (970)-491-4189

Current Lab Members

Elizabeth Blotevogel

Research Technician

Elizabeth is our lab manager and contributes to several projects. She is currently working on the soybean translatome in response to aphid infestation and on developing synthetic peptides to control spread of PVY.


Daniel Kunk

Ph.D. Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant


Daniel is originally from Washington D.C. After high school, he attended CSU in Fort Collins and graduated in 2020 with a BS in biology w/ a botany concentration. During his undergraduate he worked in labs at CSU and abroad, focusing on synthetic biology and plant-insect interactions. Currently he is pursuing a PhD in the CMB program. In his free time, he enjoys fishing and growing plants.

Rebecca Schmidt

M.S. Student, Graduate Teaching Assistant


Rebecca graduated from University of Washington with a B.S. in Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology. Previously she studied cold storage diseases and fungal pathogens of several apple and pear cultivars in central Washington. Her current focus on the role of PAD4 splice variants in plant defense to biotic factors..


Jennifer Rushton

M.S. Student, Graduate Research Assistant


Jennifer's research will focus on developing to better study the infection process of potato necrotic viruses such as Potato Virus Y, Potato Mop Top Virus and Tobacco Rattle Virus

Previous Lab Members

Graduate Students

Shailesh Raj Acharya (MS, 2017 - 2020)

Stephen Wyka (PhD, 2018 - 2020): Computational Biologist, LifeMine Therapeutics

Patrick Selig (MS, 2015 - 2017): Wastewater/Water Operations Specialist, F&V Operations 

Kumud Joshi (MS, 2015 - 2017): Ph.D. Candidate Bowling Green State University

Undergraduate Students

​Madison MacPhail

Joshua Baumgardner

Travis Issacs

Sarah Moh

Meredith Werling

Harish Bingi

Alyssa Hoffman

Randall McComb

Peter Saya II

Nicholas White

Philip Dinh